FEEDBACK – FLCC Tops Spar Dusi Seeding / Training race – 11 December 2016



Photos: HERE

Results:  will be posted in due course on GCU website….

Despite an overcast and windy start it was an awesome day to be on the river with a very forgiving and enjoyable water level.  Many of Gauteng’s elite paddlers participated at the race, which was deemed a front row Dusi seeder,  and raced following the guest of honour, 50 Miler winner – Eurosteel’s Sbonelo Khwela who took the honours this weekend as well.  More than 70 paddlers were on the river with numerous marshalls in case needed, and for the portages, as well as 5 ladies who finished the event.


The TOPS SPAR FLCC event was hosted from Heidelberg Bridge in Daleside, to Danie Maclean park in Meyerton, which included two 2km portages, as well as a quick bridge / tree block hop around.  It was generally considered to be a tough, or good, Dusi training event.


The qualifying paddlers who had competed in the previously nominated FLCC races, were in a special lucky draw for Tops Spar donated boats  – two K1’s were won by Roger Waters (CEN) and Cobus Wagner (Dabs)while the K2 was won by Hermanus Lombaard (WAT) while the cold Hansa Pilseners donated by SAB were highly enjoyed and very refreshing after the hard tough workout.


The top finishing lady was Morgan Ziervogel, again (JCC) Under 23, in 2 hours 50 minutes followed by Holly Spencer, (Dabs) Under 23, 3 hours, with Sonja Bohnsack in 3rd (MID) – A mater paddler who finished in 3 hours 7 minutes.  Phillippa Phelp (UCT) finished the race in 3 hours 32 minutes, and Sneziwe Gxobole (SOW), Under 23, closed the race off, with a 4 hour finish.


With Khwela setting the pace in 2 hours 12 minutes, it was Siseko Ntondini who took 2nd place (SOW) one minute later as first Under 23, and Loveday Zondi as 2nd Senior, (SOW), nearly half a minute later.


Alex Roberts finished as the 3rd senior in 2 hours 17 (Dabs) with Shaun Maphanga (FLO) as the first Sub Veteran in 2 hours 19 minutes, in 5th place.

Michael Stewart (ERK) was the winning Sub Master in 2 hours 21, with Mpilo Zondi from Natal picking up the first Under 18 title, in 2 hours 21,  and Kelvin Byres (DABS) was first Veteran in 2 hours 22.


James Tutton also from Natal was the first Master in 2 hours 36 minutes, and Sibusiso Chwayi (SOW) was first Under 16 in 2 hours 44 minutes.  Meyer Steyn clinched the Grand Master top podium (DABS) in 2 hours 51, while Glen Sinclair and Tony Savage (JCC/Kin) were the Sub Grand Master winners in 3 hours 03.  Vincent Buttrick finished as top Great Grand Master (ERK) in 3 hours 12 minutes.


The winning K2 in this Dusi training K1 event, brought in Ryan Simonato and Gavin Steyl (JCC) in 2 hours 31 as the third Sub Veteran, while Cobus Wagner and Marlise Swanepoel (DABS) were the Mixed Doubles top finishers in 2 hours 50.


Jennie Dallas

for GCU PR

082 857 857 1