The weather couldnt have been more perfect as Gautengers lined up for a great day of distance racing and training in long distance with portages to improve fitness and endurance!

With 100 boats on the water starting with the K1 Under 14 and upwards at 8am, and finishing up with the guppy paddlers Under 12 and downwards the Homestead Dam at Benoni, Ekurhuleni’s pride the East Rand Kayak club was busy indeed.

In the ladies categories it was Katarzyna Lapacz (FLO) who represented the Sub Grand Master ladies finishing 18.5km in 1 hour 54 minutes, while Lynn Morris (Dabs) was the Master Lady finisher in 2 hours 06 minutes.  The Sub Master Ladies were represented by Anna Clifford Arwidi (Dabs) in 1 hour 43 for her 18.5km event and the Under 23 ladies finished their 22km race with Morgan Ziervogel (JCC) finishing in 1 hour 57 minutes as first Under 23 of the day, while Ashlee Cramb (FLCC) finished in 2 hours 22 minutes.

The under 18 girls 22km saw Sneziwe Gxobole and Asanda Ndlovus (SOW) finishing in 1:58:41 and 51 respectively, while Caroline van der Linde (LIK) flew the flag for the Under 16 girls finishing her 15km race in 1 hour 20 minutes as the first Under 16 of the day.

The Under 14 girls paddled an 11.5km course and we remind you that the guppies in Under 12, ie the previous year in many cases for Under 14’s, only did 4 km or traditionally a 6km race so doubling the race distance expectation, Alexis Rich (Dabs) finished in 1:12.

The Under 12 girls finished 4km led by Kamilah Hank (FLCC) in 25 minutes 14 seconds, with Tinyiko Mahwayi (Sow) in 2nd in 29 minutes 28 seconds, while Kefiloe Sisanda Mthabela (FLCC) brought in the third podium position in a hardfought battle in 29:32 leaving FLCC’s Ketso Mohapi to bring up the 4th position in 30 minutes.

Ameerah Hank (FLCC) was the Under girls 4km champion in 29 minutes 10 seconds finishing ahead of the older girls, while Bonolo Mohapi (FLCC) was the Under 8 girl unbeaten champion of sprint and marathons interprovincials this year, finishing in 30 minutes and 36 minutes.


Moving on the more competitive busier men’s race, Brian Longley (Dabs) led the Great Grand Master Men to victory in 1 hour 30 in the 18.5km course, with Vincent Buttrick (ERK) in 1 hour 37 minutes, and Steve Jourdan (Dabs) in 1:46 leaving Mike Howard (Dabs) to finish 4th one second later.

George Marx was the Grand Master Men’s leader (Cen) in 1:39 (18.5km course) and covering the same distance the master Men were led by Theo Smit (Cen) in 1:29, with hardus Theunissen (FLCC) finishing as 2nd podium position holder in 1:41, while Meyer Steyn (Dabs) brought up the third podium position in 1;45, followed by Simon Barnes (Dabs) in 4th, 1:49.

The only C1 finisher was Radoslaw Olszewski in the long distance event finishing in 1:41 (ERK).

Colin Wilson (Dabs) was the master Men top finisher in 1:50 in a 22km course,  followed by Andreas Van Tonder (LCC) in 1:52, whle Michael Stewart was the leader of the Sub Master Men (ERK) in 1:44, with Gustav Smook (LCC) in 2nd, one second later, and Gunther Grune in 3rd 1:57 leaving Ambition Dlali (SOW) to finish fourth in 2:07.

The Veteran Men also completed a 22km course with Anton Fatti  leading (Dabs) to finish in 1:47, with Wikus Loots (LCC) 2nd and Kobus Filmalter (Wat( third in 1:56, while ERK’s Donovan Scott was fourth in 2:21.   The Sub Veteran  Men also finishing 22km were led by Wayne Jacobs (Dabs) in 1;44, with Marco Magni (Dabs) 2nd in 1:48 and Shaun Maphanga (FLCC) third in 1:49 while James Thorburn (BLU from E Cape) was 4th in 1:52.

The senior men finished a 29km course led by Phineas Zulu (Sow) in 2:29, with Tommy Booth (ERK) a close second, and Kyle Smith (JCC) a close 3rd with only seconds between them  while Etienne Rawlinson (Dabs) was 4th only a second later, although Richard Cele (VIC) finished 5th in 2 :30 and Joseph Sejaphala (Cen) finished 6th in 2:35.

The Under 23’s did a shorter race course of 25.5 km with Siseko Ntondini (Sow) the first finisher in 2 hours 10 seconds, followed 13 seconds later by Nicholas Weeks (ERK), and 8 seconds later Donald Moncho crossed the line in 3rd (FLCC) with Katiso Hlahatsi (VIC) in 4th with a time of 2:23.

The Under 18 boys finished a 22km course led by Siyabonga Tyiki (Sow), in 1:49, followed by Peter Chissano (JCC) in 1;54, and Jonty Griesel (Lik) in 2:01 with the biggest age group finishers of the day.

In the 15km course for Under 14 boys Wian Bornman (Lik) finished first in 1:16, while Zanenhlanhla Mbala (Sow) was 2nd in 1;22, Gustav Jnr Smook (LCC) finished in 1:27 with Jaydon Hunt (FLCC) only a few seconds later bringing up the 4th slot.

Matthew van Der Merwe (FLCC) finished the Under 12 boys 4km course leading the field in 23 minutes, with Connor Erwee (Dabs) 2nd in 24 minutes, James Wilmot (Dabs) third – in 26 minutes.

The Under 10 boys Chentin Mieinie (Lik) was the first finisher in 23 minutes, with Nicholas erwee (Dabs) in 24 minutes taking up 2nd podium slot and David Brown (FLCC) 3rd in 25 minutes followed closely by Theo Dreyer (Dabs).

Under 8 boys also on the 4km course finished in 26 minutes led by Divan Bornman (Lik) with James Dingley in 2nd (Dabs) in 34 minutes,  and 6 year old Thoriso Mohapi (FLCC) brought up the 3rd podium position a few seconds later.

It was a great day of competitive racing in super conditions and enjoyed by all – exhausted and triumphant!

Thank you to ERK for the opportunity to identify our Marathon team! We look forward to announcement of the team results in due course.