GCU K2 Marathon Champs PHOTOS on Facebook/GautengCanoeUnion – Camera 1

GCU K2 Marathon Champs PHOTOS on Facebook/GautengCanoeUnion – Camera 2

Another lovely day of sunshine and calm waters, as well as good racing from the look of the smiles on the faces in the photos!!

With no senior ladies competing, it was the Sub Master lady, Anna Clifford Arwidi who was the first female finisher at the 17km 5 laps with 4 portages race, (DABS) in 1:43, with the Master ladies finishing next, Sylvia Nel, and Katarzyna Lapacz (Lik/FLO) in 1:44, a good race!  Shelley Robertson and Gertruida Van Der Westhuizen (CRO/CEN) finished next in 2 hours 10 minutes as the Sub Vet ladies.

The Under 14 girls finished their 11km 3 laps and 2 portages, with Jo-ane Prinsloo and Kamilah Hank (Lik/FLO) leading in 1:02, followed by SOW crew Tinyiko Mahwayi and Thembelihle Jokozela who finished in 1:11.

The Mixed Doubles at the Gauteng K2 Championships were all Veteran crews –  led by Kobus Filmalter and Caroline Filmalter (WAT) who finished in 1:44, the 2nd place finishers were Kelvin and Taflin Byres (DABS) finishing in 1:55, while Andre Zandbergh and Jessica Booyzen (WAT) finished in 2:04, with Jason Brown and Sonja Bohnsack (DABS) finishing in 2:06.

The C2 Men crew of Calvin Mokoto and Radoslaw Olszewski (ERK) finished their race in 1:36.

The men crews finished 22km, consisting of  6 laps and 5 portages with the leading men also being from mixed age groups with the fastest time of the day brought in by the Sub Veteran team of Dave Hamilton-Brown and Wayne Jacobs (DABS) in 1:36:17, while Elton du Preez and Willem Landman (CEN) were the 2nd Sub Veteran finishers.

The next fastest time at the GCU K2 Marathon Champs was clocked by Under 23 Siyabonga Tyiki and Thando Ngamlana (SOW) in 1:36:18, a very close race between the youngsters and the veterans !!   Tristan Trican and Moshe Nghomani (FLO) finished as 2nd Under 23 in 1:44.

The third fastest time was from the Under 18 Sowetan team Sibusiso Chwayi and Zanenhlanhla Mbala in 1:37:46 , with 2nd place in the juniors going to Bambo Fanteni and Buhlebenkosi Phakathi (SOW) in 1:38:59 and the 3rd Junior Under 18 crew were Gustav Smook (LOW) and Liam Stewart (ERK) in 1:46.

The Senior Men, Michael-John Robb and Grant Ahlschlager (DABS) finished in 1:39:23 with Phineas  Zulu and Zonele Nzuza right behind them chasing to finish in 1:39:55 (SOW).

Colin Wilson with Roy Clegg (Dabs/VIC) finished as first Veterans in 1:39, with Shaun Maphanga and Douw Kruger (FLO) in 1:51, and Wikus Loots with Colin Turner finishing in 1:55 (LOW).

In the Sub Master Men it was Michael Stewart and Gustav Smook (ERK/LOW) who led the race finishing in 1:39:36, while James Godden and Luke Symons (DABS) finished as 2nd Sub Masters in 1:39:45 followed by Andrew Hall/Barry Painting (DABS) – 1:42:46, Malcolm Stothard / Pieter Engelbrecht (DABS) – 1:42:48 and Andrew Cooper with Nicholas Warren (DABS) in 1:46:04.

The Sub Grand Master Men completed 17km – 5 laps and 4 portages of 100m, bringing in Jim Davies and Lloyde Hanson (DABS) in 1:27, while the Grand Master Men first finishers were Gary Ralph and Graham Holm (DABS) in 1;35, followed by Keith Beeston and John Rowan (JCC/ERK) in 1:48, and the Great Grand Masters Brian Longley and Peter O Connor (DABS) finished without portages in 1:28.

The Under 16 boys who did 14km (4 laps / 3 portages) were Wongama Makhasi and Benjamin Mntonintshi (SOW) finishing in 1:14, while the Under 14 boys team of Adrian Rodd and Finlay Leask (DABS) finished their 11km race with 2 portages in 0:56.

Thanks so much to ERK for organising the event !!

Jennie Dallas

for GCU PR

082 857 857 1